FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

General FAQ

1. What is Portage?
The Portage Program for Drug Dependencies Inc. is one of North America’s leading organisations in the treatment of drug abuse. Based on the therapeutic community model, Portage provides a special type of living experience that strives to rehabilitate, educate and reorient participants so they can develop a new drug-free way of life. Founded in Montréal in 1970, Portage currently operates not-for-profit residential and external treatment centres in Québec, Ontario, and New Brunswick, and also welcomes clients from other provinces.
2. What is the Portage Program treatment approach?
The Portage therapeutic community treatment approach emphasises self-help and the creation of family-like support systems. Using a number of therapeutic techniques, including role modeling and group counseling, Portage staff members teach participants to shape their own values, develop a realistic perception of their lives and increase self-respect. It is designed to respond to the individual needs of the participants. Through case management and individual treatment planning, residents learn to identify their own problems and develop the skills and competencies to address them.
3. What is the difference between the services Portage provides versus other rehabilitation organisations?
Portage’s ongoing refinement of the treatment concept since 1973 has led to the development of specialised and proven expertise. The program is able to deal with a wide spectrum of substance abuse issues and all facets of the rehabilitation process. Further, Portage continually benefits from the support and guidance of a strong group of outside professionals and advisors, ensuring that the organisation has a solid structure.
4. How is Portage funded?
Responsibility for the delivery of addiction treatment is a matter of provincial jurisdiction. Portage has entered into agreements with several provincial ministries to fund the major part of its annual operating budgets. Portage is also funded by donations from the private sector.
5. How are Portage staff members trained?

Portage facilities are staffed by highly trained and experienced professionals and paraprofessionals, all of whom have acquired or who have been encouraged to acquire International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol (IC&RC) certification through Canadian Addiction Counsellors Certification Federation (CACCF).

Portage has also been accredited by Accreditation Canada, which demonstrates the quality of services provided at Portage and the professionalism of our staff members.

Some members of Portage's personnel are themselves former drug addicts who have successfully completed a drug addiction rehabilitation program (for most, at Portage) and are now living drug-free lives.

6. Is the Portage Program accredited?
Portage obtained the Accreditation Primer in July 2008. This first stage of the accreditation process began in 2006 with a motion from the Portage Board of Directors, which authorised that an agreement be reached with Accreditation Canada to accredit the organisation according to the requirements of the Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux. At this time it was agreed that the accreditation process would be applied across the entire organisation. Portage received full accreditation in 2010. The actions and service quality improvements that have been put in place throughout the accreditation process have fostered pride in quality among all Portage staff members. Portage is very proud to announce that its accreditation standing with Accreditation Canada has been increased to that of Exemplary Standing, as of December 10, 2013 Accreditation is the recognition by an external, competent authority that an establishment is engaged in a continuous process of improving the quality of its services. This recognition by a third party provides credibility to the accredited organisation, eliciting greater confidence from the community, residents, and government authorities because of the importance that the establishment places on continuously improving the quality of its services.
7. What is the Aftercare Program and how does it work?
Once a person completes the residential portion of their Portage program, they become members of the Aftercare Program. This phase lasts up to two years and provides regular community-based support group meetings facilitated by a Portage staff member.
8. How is the success of the Portage Treatment Program measured?
A series of longitudinal outcome studies have been conducted on Portage’s clientele from 2003-2008 by Portage’s research department, as well as third party investigators. A group of 122 male and female adolescents were followed for an 18 month cycle. They were surveyed at entry, as well as at 6, 12 and 18 months after completing the residential treatment. The findings were remarkable; even 18 months after treatment, the decrease in drug use remains 95.8 for hallucinogens; 83% for amphetamines and 93.5% for cocaine, with a combined score of 85% for all drugs. Even youth who stay even a short time at Portage benefits considerably. In other words, there is a significant relationship between the length of stay in treatment and the degree of improvement. On other measures such as pursuit of academic advancement, employment, social integration and family relations, the advances are significant.
graphic-contactus

FAQ

Foire aux questions

À propos de Portage

1. Qu’est-ce que Portage?
Le Programme de Portage relatif à la dépendance de la drogue inc. est un organisme à but non lucratif qui est chef de file en Amérique du Nord en matière de traitement de la toxicomanie. Fondé sur le modèle de la communauté thérapeutique, Portage apporte une expérience de vie particulière qui s’efforce à la réadaptation, à l’éducation et à la réorientation des participants afin qu’ils puissent développer une nouvelle façon de vivre sans drogue. Fondé à Montréal en 1970, Portage gère actuellement des centres de traitement résidentiel et en externe au Québec, en Ontario et au Nouveau-Brunswick et reçoit des clients de partout au pays.
2. Quelle est l’approche du programme de traitement de Portage?
L’approche du programme de traitement de Portage est basée sur le modèle de la communauté thérapeutique et met l’emphase sur l’autonomie et la création de systèmes de soutien de type familial. Utilisant plusieurs techniques thérapeutiques, incluant la présence de modèle de rôle et la consultation de groupe, le personnel de Portage enseigne aux participants à façonner leurs propres valeurs, à développer une perception réaliste de leur vie et à accroître leur estime d’eux-mêmes. Le programme est conçu de façon à répondre aux besoins individuels des participants. Les résidents apprennent, par la gestion de cas et le plan de traitement individuel, à identifier leurs propres problèmes et à développer les aptitudes et les compétences nécessaires pour les aborder.
3. Quelle est la différence entre les services offerts par Portage et ceux des autres organismes?
Le raffinement constant du concept de traitement de Portage depuis 1973 a permis de développer une expertise spécialisée et éprouvée. Le programme permet de considérer tout le spectre de la toxicomanie et toutes les facettes du processus de réadaptation. De plus, Portage bénéficie en permanence du soutien et des conseils d’un groupe externe de professionnels et de conseillers, assurant ainsi la solidité de la structure de l’organisme.
4.Comment Portage est-il financé?
La responsabilité de prestation de traitement pour la toxicomanie est de juridiction provinciale. Portage a des ententes avec divers ministères provinciaux pour le financement de la majeure partie de son budget annuel. Le financement de Portage est aussi assuré par les contributions provenant du secteur privé.
5. Est-ce que le personnel de Portage est qualifié d’un point de vue professionnel?
Tous les membres hautement qualifiés du personnel professionnel et para-professionnel, travaillant aux installations de Portage, sont accrédités ou encouragés à entreprendre la démarche d’accréditation de l’IC & RC (International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium for Alcohol), par l’entremise de la Fédération canadienne d’agrément des conseillers en toxicomanie (CACCF). Le fait que Portage soit accrédité par Agrément Canada démontre la qualité du travail du personnel de Portage. Plusieurs conseillers sont eux-mêmes d’anciens toxicomanes qui ont accompli et réussi un programme de réadaptation (en général chez Portage).
6. Le Programme de Portage est-il accrédité?
Portage a obtenu, avec fierté, l’agrément de base en 2008. Cette première étape avait été amorcée en 2006 par une résolution du conseil d’administration de Portage autorisant la conclusion d’une entente avec Agrément Canada pour accréditer l’organisation en conformité avec les exigences de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux, et avec l’intention d’étendre le processus à l’ensemble de l’organisme. Portage a obtenu l’agrément complet en 2010. Les actions et suivis mis en place dans le cadre du processus d’agrément permettent à tout le personnel de Portage de cultiver la qualité. Portage est très fier d’annoncer que son statut d’agrément a été élevé à celui d’organisme agréé avec mention d’honneur par Agrément Canada en date du 10 décembre 2013. L’agrément est la reconnaissance par une autorité externe compétente, Agrément Canada, qu’un établissement est engagé dans une démarche continue d’amélioration de la qualité de ses services. Cette reconnaissance par un tiers confère à l’établissement une notoriété qui fait que la population, les résidants et les autorités gouvernementales acquièrent ou entretiennent un sentiment de confiance dans la place que l’établissement accorde à l’amélioration constante de la qualité des services.
7. Qu’est-ce que le programme postcure et comment fonctionne-t-il?
Lorsque les résidants complètent le programme résidentiel de Portage, ils s’intègrent alors à le programme postcure. Cette phase a une durée approximative de deux ans et un intervenant offre des rencontres de groupe.
8. Comment décrire la réussite du programme de traitement de Portage?
Différentes études longitudinales ont été menées auprès de la clientèle de Portage, à la fois par le Service de recherche de Portage et par des groupes indépendants. La période couverte par les études s’étend de 2003 à 2008. Un groupe de 122 adolescents et adolescentes a été suivi sur une période de 18 mois. Ces jeunes ont été évalués dès le début du traitement et 6, 12 et 18 mois après la fin du séjour en résidence. Les résultats sont remarquables : même 18 mois après le traitement, la réduction de consommation de drogue reste à 95,8 % dans le cas d’hallucinogènes, à 83 % dans le cas d’amphétamines, à 93,5 % dans le cas de la cocaïne et à 85 % pour tous les types de drogue combinés. Nous disposons d’études et de sondages qui attestent du fait que toute personne qui effectue un séjour à Portage, même de courte durée, en tire d’énormes avantages. En d’autres mots, il existe une relation appréciable entre la durée du séjour pour le traitement et le degré d’amélioration. En ce qui concerne d’autres mesures comme la poursuite d’études, l’emploi, l’intégration sociale et les relations familiales, les progrès sont impressionnants et l’on constate une importante différence statistiquement significative.
Contact us - Portage logo